Book Review: Five out of five stars for When Rain Falls by Tyora Moody


When Rain FallsWhen Rain Falls by Tyora Moody
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

When Rain Falls in 140 characters or less: Two unsolved murders, cop’s widow + two kids lose friend. Divorced cop on case. Romance suspense!

When Rain Falls is the debut novel from Tyora Moody. I could not tell this was her first work. The writing is engaging, the plot gradually progresses with increasing speed toward the climax, and while my eyes initially bulged at the page count (it’s about 370 pages), she does a lot within it. It’s a must read if you like reading: a.) suspense b.) romance, and c.) Christian fiction that doesn’t beat you over the head with the message.

Candace Johnson, her protagonist, is the child of a mother who’s murdered. A few years prior to the events of the novel, she loses her husband, Frank, to an unsolved murder. Tragedy strikes again when Candace’s best friend Pamela is killed. I tried a few rounds of “Guess the Killers” and lost. Several times.

Darnell Jackson, a West Coast transfer on the police force, is on Pamela’s murder case with Frank’s old partner – who still has Frank’s death hanging over his head. Reluctantly, they work together to find who offed Pamela, with occasional interference from Candace.

I don’t mind the romantic pairing between Darnell and Candace, as that’s no mystery. Their interplay is not contrived at all, and I found it to be totally believable. The case goes in twists and turns, from the pointed fingers at Pamela’s married lover and his wife, to a final twist I didn’t see coming at all. Then, Moody throws a curve within that swerve. If that’s not enough to bait your hook, I don’t know what is.

All of the novel’s threads are neatly tied together at the end. If I had one gripe (and it’s one, small, tiny, melt-in-your-mouth-not-in-your-hand, bite-sized gripe). . .well, all I can say is that one of the threads “skips a loop.” Weird to say at the end of a review, I know, but I HATE spoilers.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Five out of five stars for When Rain Falls by Tyora Moody

  1. Thank you, Brian, for your review. I’m deeply touched and encouraged. Yes, I will be emailing you about the loop I skipped. LOL!

    I had a lot of threads to tie up as I came to the conclusion and I don’t like reading books where it was resolved too fast. Thank you for letting me know. I’m currently working on the second book, When Memories Fade, and hope to display a bit more growth with the story.

    Blessings!

    Ty

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

