My .75 cents story


Today’s entry is a personal story.

I rarely carry cash on my person. If you ever see me out and want to rob me, good luck with that 🙂

Last Wednesday, I had a quarter to my name. Which is good if you are a cute, three-year-old toddler whose daycare has a 25 cent candy machine by the door. Otherwise, a quarter doesn’t do me much good. It’s 81 cents short of a Dunkin Donut and $1.66 short of a medium coffee with cream and five sugars. (My teeth are healthy, thank you very much).

The lady at Caribou Coffee charged me 50 cents too much; I go cheap green and use my own mug, which earns me a discount. The last time she forgot, I got a handwritten I.O.U. This time, I received 50 cents back in change. Woo hoo! Closer to my goal.

Fast-forward to the end of the day. I picked up my wife from work and heard a flapping sound while driving down the road. The steering wheel kept turning right. Yup, I had a flat tire. After switching out my flat for the donut (the smaller tire, not a chocolate glazed), we were on our way.

Except. . .the spare needed air.

More flapping, until a half mile down the road, I pulled into a gas station next to the air pump. Did it work? Yes (so often they don’t). But it required change, and I don’t carry change. I looked up at the sticker next to the slot for the pump.

75 cents.

Thanks you, Father 🙂

Brian Thompson’s passion is motivating and encouraging others to write and to pursue Do-It-Yourself publishing. He is also author of acclaimed Christian fiction thrillers The Lost Testament, and The Revelation Gate. You can read more about Brian by visiting his author site.

One thought on “My .75 cents story

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

