Need book publicity? Try a blog tour!


Fans, followers, people who stumble onto my blog accidentally, lend me your ears!

Thank you for being a part of the blog tour for The Revelation Gate (May 30-June 3), hosted by Tywebbin Blog Tours. Every experience has its ups and downs. It rained on my wedding day, but I have a GREAT marriage. Some of the tour went great and some of it not so great. In the end, I sent out six copies to be reviewed and got two VERY GOOD reviews.

OK, so it’s my first time at the plate, so to speak, and I’m a little discouraged. I went into blog touring thinking that I had finally discovered a way around the “I’ll-send-you-an-ARC-and-I-won’t-hear-from-you-again” process. Turns out, it doesn’t quite work that way. Yes, bloggers will request books based on their interests, yes, you are more likely to get reviewed (at least as a small indie author/publisher starting out) than if you submit to the “big guys.”

But no, it does not guarantee that you will get a review when you want it. Book bloggers have jobs, families, responsibilities, activities, hobbies, travel schedules, etc. They might get to you before your release date, and they might not. But, in the end, it’s still (fairly) free publicity, which is ALWAYS a good thing.

But, you need to know what you’re doing. That’s where came in. If I depended on the strength of those two reviews, I would have been depressed. I also had a blogtalk radio interview scheduled with WordThirst Literary Journal, an OOVOO interview with PWICU, and Q&A’s with Ty and several others, including Joey Pinkney, who’s been tweeting links to his Q&A with me non-stop (Thank you!)

Overall, it’s been UP and I highly recommend it, especially if a.) you’re new to this self-publicity game, b.) you’re on a limited budget, and c.) you recognize word-of-mouth is the best tool you could ever have as a businessperson. Be blessed and we’ll talk soon.

Author Brian L. Thompson is the president of Great Nation Publishing and author of the Christian fiction thriller The Lost Testament, and The Revelation Gate, due for release on June 7, 2011. You can read more about Brian by visiting his author site.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

