Working backwards. . .


William Hinn, who is the brother of Benny Hinn, came to my church a few years ago and preached about God’s perspective on our lives. He (Hinn) said that God mapped out our entire lives in the spirit, then ordained for us to be born. And now, we are walking through the history of our lives. That always impressed me, even in my writing. I start every novel with the end in mind. I know the end before I even start writing. Once you discover who your characters are and what their function is, their actions become a byproduct of their function towards the end which you originally had in mind. Sound confusing?

One of my characters, Charlemagne Evans, is a Tennessee girl in her late-thirties. She happens to be a prostitute. So, she dresses provocatively. As she is a prostitute, eventually, she’s going to have to do what she calls “exchanging favors,” which I allude to in the novel. Her speech is very frank and upfront — ladies of the evening don’t beat around the bush, so to speak. Time is money. So, you see, I did not have to invent things for Charlie to do. She just became a byproduct of her function and walked out what I called her to do.

Planning the release of this book is quite a different matter. No one in my circle has attempted to do what I’ve been called to do, so parts of my circle need to change. Quite naturally, people are questioning me. What are you going to do next? Aren’t you worried about (fill in the blank)? Do you know what you’re doing?

In a way, yes, I know what I’m doing. I’m following God. He knows what He’s doing. And that’s the best I can tell you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

