When do you break the rules?


I’m a recent devotee of Margie Lawson’s deep EDITS system. She recommends that you use highlighters to code different aspects of your writing. Whenever you see too much of a color, that lets you know your writing is out of balance.

It also shows your tendencies. My writing tends to drift into thoughts, action, and dialogue, if I’m not careful.

I’ve recently gotten hooked on The Hunger Games series (I am writing YA now, after all). There’s a spot in Mockingjay that’s a page-long monologue/info dump. Had I done the same thing, my editing partners Jackie and Martha would have jumped all over me.

But Collins has sold a bazillion¬†(give or take) books doing the exact same thing I’ve been taught is poor writing. The experts tell you not to do something, then you see someone famous do it and it’s fine.

So what’s the message here? Is it that poor writing habits pass if you’re famous? Or, are they not poor writing habits after all?

I don’t think there’s a book on the planet that’s perfect, grammatically or stylistically, We like what we like. If you’ve read Mockingjay, you’ve probably passed over the same section without thinking twice about it. There’s nothing that says Collins is wrong, or that Lawson is right. It reminds me of a quote I once heard and will paraphrase: if you make your reader fall in love with your characters, you can get away with anything,

Hope this helps! 

Leave a Reply

Proudly powered by WordPress
Theme: Esquire by Matthew Buchanan.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,040 other followers

